Playing With Your Food

This week, I’ll be attempting, for the second time, to make sweet corn ice cream.

This came as a request from one of the farmers that I see every week at the Hollywood Farmers Market.  He sells the most deliciously sweet corn and, as it happens, he has quite a sweet tooth.

When he asked me two weeks ago if I would make him some corn ice cream, I happily obliged. (With so much corn in abundance at the local farmers markets, it’s time to loosen the culinary belt and start thinking beyond grilled corn, corn soup and corn salad.)

Now, as I mentioned, this is attempt number two. The first attempt didn’t work out so well. Why? Well, uhhh, I waited a bit too long to make the ice cream and those poor ears of corn that I had most happily received from my farmer friend had, over the week, dehydrated, making the ice cream too starchy. Think licking a slice of raw potato, but sweet. Thus, that batch went straight from the ice cream maker to my mouth to the trash. Sorry, corn. It was me, not you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, I’m back on it again and today is the day – just 2 days after buying the corn and 3 days after it was picked fresh from the field.

So here goes another round.

Sweet corn ice cream with a touch of cinnamon.

Now all I need is a homemade waffle cone and a double shot Latte.

 

2 thoughts on “Playing With Your Food

  1. Pingback: The Day | Chef Nathan Lyon

  2. Pingback: Sweet Corn Ice Cream – Take 3 | Chef Nathan Lyon

Leave a Reply

