Elementary Dinner

Because I have such fond memories of my alma mater (my elementary school, Long Branch Elementary in Arlington, Virginia) and since I love supporting education, last year (for the second year in a row), I offered up a night of private cheffing to Long Branch Elementary to auction off at their annual fundraiser.

After much planning and coordinating over the last year, it all came down to me, Super-sous, and a 5-course dinner for 6 last night.

We made a few goodies from my cookbook, Great Food Starts Fresh, like my heirloom tomato salad and halibut with salsa verde and a few extra special dishes – a melon berry fruit salad with arugula, saba, and a sherry vinaigrette.

All in all, it was a wonderful evening with lively conversation, a lot of laughter, and of course, delicious wines.

It’s always great to visit my hometown and give back to the community that supported me along the way.

Super-sous and I make our way back to L.A. today with huge smiles, recounting an eventful week: cooking and signing books at Discovery Headquarters, attending my Executive Producer’s daughter’s bat mitzvah in New Jersey, a water main break in NJ (read: don’t drink the water), a week-long power outage in Virginia,  100+ degree weather, family time with Mom and Dad, a book signing at the Falls Church Farmers Market, the premier of my new show, Good Food America, and the fundraiser dinner.

There’s only one thing to do to celebrate this great week. Latte? Looks like you and me have a date in the near future.

Leave a Reply

